Room 19 update

Hi everyone,

We’re getting back into our routines here in Star 19, and settling in well after the holidays!

Attached to this blog is a copy of the term overview. Please have a read through and let me know if there are any points you would like to discuss.

Some of you may have noticed or heard that I was out of the classroom Thursday and Friday of week 1. I will also be away from the class this coming Tuesday (week 3). I am taking part in a pilot project developed with DECD, UniSA and Adelaide Uni, which is focusing on supporting teachers to address the language demands in literacy, through a science unit.  Their argument is that children do not understand the science if they cannot use appropriate scientific language, so I will be trialling an approach which will hopefully have our class talking like expert scientists by the end of the term.

Swimming notes have gone out to families. Please ensure you return both the medical note, and consent form to the school. Payments are made to the front office, however I can pass these on if you cannot find the time to make it to the office.

The lap-a-thon was a huge success last Friday. I saw many children putting in all their effort, and I am so impressed at the stamina and endurance of the runners! Thank you to the parents, carers, family members and friends who were involved with the sponsorship. When the learning space is finished we’ll have to have an appreciation bake-a-thon for you all.

TERM 3 OVERVIEW-27b7zmo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *